India to host G20 summit in 2023, Union Minister Piyush Goyal will be ‘Sherpa’

Union Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal has been appointed as India’s Sherpa for the G20, a grouping that brings together the world’s major economies. Announcing this, the Ministry of External Affairs said on Tuesday that India will chair the G20 grouping from December 1, 2022 and will host its summit for the first time in 2023. The next meeting of the G20 countries will be held under the chairmanship of Italy on 30-31 October.

Piyush Goyal will represent as Sherpa

“The Union Minister of Commerce and Industry, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution and Textiles Piyush Goyal has been appointed as Sherpa of India for the G20,” the Ministry of External Affairs said. The Sherpa is the representative of the leaders of the G20 member states, who coordinate the agenda of the summit and discuss the agenda of economic, political and global discussions with member countries. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been representing India in the G20 since 2014. India has been a member of the G20 since its inception in 1999.

“India will be part of the G20 troika from December 1, 2021 to November 30, 2024,” the ministry said. Every year when a member country assumes the presidency, that country works in coordination with the previous year’s president country and the next year’s president country. This process itself is collectively called the troika. This ensures consistency and consistency of the group’s agenda.

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the G20 brings together 19 of the world’s leading economies and the European Union. Its members represent 80 percent of global GDP, 75 percent of global trade and 60 percent of the global population. The G20 includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *